Contemporaneous Extension


“With age come the inner, the higher life. Who would be forever young, to dwell always in externals?”
April 4, 2012, 2:41 am
Filed under: Uncategorized
Lou Ros, "selfportrait 8," 2010, acrylic on canvas, 17.7 x 13.8 in (image courtesy of Saatchi Online)

Lou Ros, "selfportrait 8," 2010, acrylic on canvas, 17.7 x 13.8 in (image courtesy of Saatchi Online)

Today is my birthday, and I am feeling overcome with gratitude for the opportunities I’ve had in the last year. This blog has been an incredible starting point for my writing and has pushed me to stay with it when I haven’t been as busy as I’ve liked. That being said, I have recently started writing for several publications you should check into!

As Contributor at Large for ON-VERGE, you can find me posting suggestions and features quite regularly. White Zinfandel and Jim Jarmusch’s Coffee and Cigarettes are two recent subjects of my extended ramblings. I am musing a potential feature on Stanley Whitney’s mindbending exhibition at TEAM, and looking to get some more news commentary on the site as well.

MilkMade is another outlet I’ve been putting my efforts wholeheartedly into in the last month or so. Milk Studios is a treasure trove of incredible photographers, evocative fashion, and some of the most enjoyable characters I’ve had the pleasure of knowing. The Milk Gallery is home to a constantly evolving series of photographers, ranging from Cliff Watts to Kevin Erskine. The Milk Underground exhibition of emergent photographers, which finds its way to the gallery several times per year, illustrates how committed the Studio is to fostering talent and providing the space within which they can be discovered.

Furthermore, I am still churning out work with Whitehot Magazine and Whitewall, as well. You can find my Armory Week coverage for Whitewall at the left. Keep your eyes peeled for upcoming reviews in Whitehot on the Brucennial currently in SoHo and Agathe Snow’s exhibition with Eli Hansen at Maccarone.

On the brink of expansion, I won’t forget where I came from.

Franz Falckenhaus, "Big Player," 2011, mixed media digital collage (image courtesy of Saatchi Online)

Franz Falckenhaus, "Big Player," 2011, mixed media digital collage (image courtesy of Saatchi Online)

(quotation from Elizabeth Cady Stanton)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

